Risdon Brook Dam

Poster Competition

National Water Week 2019 TasWater poster competition:
It's time to change the world.

Each year, National Water Week events and promotions across Australia encourage individuals, communities and organisations to work together to build community awareness and understanding around water issues.  TasWater encourages awareness through an annual poster competition.

The 2019 National Water Week TasWater Poster Competition is now open to all primary school aged students from around Tasmania. The 2019 theme for TasWater’s poster competition is ‘It’s time to change the world’.

Here is the perfect way to encourage students to think about water availability, how public sanitation systems are vital for public health – and how we compare to other places, and times in history. 

This year’s theme encourages students to consider how people access water and sewage services in Australia, and around the world now and into the future. It also provides an opportunity to bring attention to the value of water, sanitation, and sustainable cities and communities.

We must do our utmost to protect our water environments and resources, as well as bringing attention to the responsibility everyone shares to look after our sewerage systems.

“Nearly 40 per cent of the world’s population lacks access to toilets, and the dignity and safety that they provide” according to Ann M Veneman, UNICEF Executive Director.

In Australia we are lucky to have access to sanitation systems that separate human waste from our drinking water.

We can always do better though by using innovation and new technologies to improve environmental impacts and by making simple adjustments in our own behaviour to make sure those precious drops of water are not wasted.

Once you start learning, you will agree, it's time to change the world! Keep an eye on this page for some ideas to help your students with their posters.

FINAL NWW Poster competition promotional poster 2019.jpg


There are some fantastic prizes to be won for students including a gift voucher valued at $100 and introducing a lucky draw prize for one entering school, chosen at random, of $250. 

Schools of 1st prize winning students also win a water themed book pack for their libraries.

Winners will be drawn from each of the four age categories below:
  • Prep
  • Grade 1 & 2
  • Grade 3 & 4
  • Grade 5 & 6

Prizes will consist of:

1st – $100 gift voucher

2nd - Science prize pack

3rd – Healthy environment activity kit

This year we are also introducing one lucky draw prize of $250.00 that every school who enters has an equal opportunity at winning, regardless of whether there are student poster winners from that school or not.


The entry form MUST be attached to the back of the poster. Entries must be received by 4.00pm Monday 9 September 2019 to any TasWater office or: GPO Box 1363, Hobart TAS 7001.

  • Your poster MUST be A3 size
  • Only one poster entry per student
  • Any medium including paper can be used  
  • Any art material, including paint, textas, coloured pencils, collage materials, photography or computer graphics can be used.

The entry form and a full list of terms and conditions can be downloaded here.


Winners will be presented with prizes at ceremonies in October during National Water Week 2019, details to be advised once judging has concluded.

All poster entries will be on display in the Devonport, Launceston and Hobart areas from 21 – 27 October 2019.

2018 Winning posters: Theme Water for Me, Water for All

In order of first place, second place and third place.

Grade: Prep

First prize - Albie de Gooyer (Lauderdale Primary School)

Second prize - Oskar Willson (Howrah Primary School)



Grade: 1 & 2

First prize – Clover Howells (Campbell Street Primary)

Second prize –  Lexie Warfewood (Campbell Street Primary)



Grade: 3 & 4

First prize –  Kathleen Bosveld (Bosveld Homeschool) 

Second prize –  Jonathan Coles (Home school)

Third prize –  Stephanie Stansfield (Lindisfarne North Primary School)




Grade: 5 & 6

First prize –  Molly Galbraith (Emmannuel Christian School)

Second prize –  Ella Zieserl (Emmannuel Christian School)