Awards flow for TasWater employees

Matthew Robertson.jpgTasWater's Matthew Robertson, a Process Engineer based at Moonah, has been awarded the Australian Water Association’s 2018 Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year. The award recognises young water professionals who have had outstanding career achievements to date, promoted careers in the water sector and raised awareness of water issues in the community.
Matt started his career at TasWater as the recipient of the Steve Balcombe Scholarship in 2012.

TasWater CEO Michael Brewster says the Steve Balcombe Scholarship is awarded to a Tasmanian student at the start of their course at UTAS.
“Each summer during his studies, Matt came to TasWater for work experience and then commenced with us full time in Project Delivery in January 2016.”
Australian Water Association Chief Executive Jonathan McKeown described Matt as having grown into an emerging leader who is now guiding and mentoring the next generation of students and graduates into water sector careers.

Matt will now automatically enter the equivalent National Australian Water Awards category, which will be presented at Ozwater ‘19 in Melbourne next year.
“In winning this award Matt demonstrates the importance of investing in and nurturing students for a career in our industry,” Mr Brewster said.
“I’m proud to say that Matt joins a number of TasWater employees who have been recognised through this award in the past I look forward to seeing what the future holds for him in the years to come.”