Who is TasWater?

First things first, we’re Tasmanians. We know first-hand there’s something special about this island state we call home, and we’re dedicated to protecting and improving upon our unique way of life. Since 2013, we’ve been focused on one thing:

Unlocking water’s full potential.

Because water is life. We all know that. But more importantly, it’s Tasmanian life. It’s where we spend the weekend and how we quench a half-time thirst. It’s what keeps our communities connected, industries running, state thriving and environment flourishing.With your help, we’re keeping the very best of Tasmania on tap.

Fast facts from the annual reports for 2021-22. TasWater is anticipated to oversee:

  • 942 employees
  • 218,581 water connections
  • 189,922 sewerage connections
  • 4,879 km sewer mains
  • 6,528 km water mains
  • 60 drinking water systems
  • 954 water and sewage pump stations

TasWater commenced operations on 1 July, 2013 and was formed through the amalgamation of the three Tasmanian Water and Sewerage Corporations: 

  • Ben Lomond Water
  • Cradle Mountain Water
  • Southern Water, and their shared services firm;
  • Onstream

The TasWater vision, values and behaviours.



The objectives for TasWater prescribed in the Water and Sewerage Corporation Act are to:

  • efficiently provide water and sewerage functions in Tasmania
  • encourage water conservation, the demand management of water and the reuse of water on an economic and commercial basis
  • be a successful business, and to this end
  • operate its activities in accordance with good commercial practice
  • deliver sustainable returns to its member
  • deliver water and sewerage services to customers in the most cost efficient manner
TasWater Water Bottles Cheers Group Soccer Team


These four Corporations were formed in late 2008 as a result of significant reform of Tasmania's water industry, and commenced trading on 1 July, 2009. The three Regional Corporations (Ben Lomond Water, Cradle Mountain Water and Southern Water) were owned by local government councils within their respective regions. As the shared services business, Onstream was owned by the three Regional Corporations.

The three Regional Corporations managed the transfer of some $2 Billion in water and sewerage assets from the previous ownership by 29 councils, three bulk water authorities and some state government agencies with the transfer of some 615 staff.

Between 2009 and 30 June, 2013 the three Regional Corporations focused on:

  • delivery of Compliance Implementation Plans agreed with industry's major regulators
  • managed significant inherited and new capital works expenditure
  • managed bulk and reticulated water and sewerage operations
  • introduced a new billing system
  • installed 54,000 water meters in southern Tasmania for the first time as well as others in unmetered areas of the state
  • had their first Price and Service Plans approved by the Economic Regulator for the next three years


The move to a single corporation

In September 2011, the Board Chairman initiated discussions with owner councils about the potential benefits that could ensue from a single statewide water and sewerage corporation. After a series of reviews, council owners in all regions agreed to move to a single corporation that merged the current four corporations.

We are governed by the Corporations Act 2001 and commenced operations on 1 July 2013 following the merger of Ben Lomond Water, Cradle Mountain Water, Southern Water and Onstream in accordance with the Water and Sewerage Corporation Act 2012. From commencement, TasWater has been owned by Tasmania's 29 councils, with the State Government also becoming a shareholder in early 2019.

Was this page useful?

Rate this page

  • Rate as Yes89.83% Yes votes
  • Rate as No10.17% No votes

Have your say